RSS

Room to Create…

13 Aug

I find it hard to believe, but it is actually complete!

I smile the moment I walk into the room, I can’t help but run my fingers across the length of my desk… it is almost unreal to me what I started with and what is here now. After many long months and more hours than I can account for, I am thrilled to reveal my new sewing room!

To really appreciate my new creation I feel it is necessary to show before, in progress and of course the after shots as I walk you through.

ImageImage

This before shot was actually taken when I was walking through the home for the second time prior to buying.

The start of this was way back in April.

After taking an entire day off work to be available for the lawyers to call so I can pick up my keys, the call didn’t actually come until about 6pm on the evening before Good Friday and from a different location then I expected – how I love you Murphy 😉 By the time I had keys in hand and walked through the front door it was about 7:30 at night! I did my initial walk through to take it all in and then stood in the middle of my soon to be sewing room imagining the possibilities.

As you can see from the before shot I had some beautiful wood paneling to work with… needless to say it didn’t take me long to decide there was no way I could live with it.

Without wasting anytime I had started ripping down the paneling by 9pm that night and by 1 am I found myself sitting in the middle of the room, wood paneling thrown everywhere looking at what seemed to be some sort of chip board with about 100 year old gold paisley wallpaper stuck to it.

I laugh now when I share the story because it is so like me to just dive right into something without considering what might happen or what the results will be. I remember sitting there, tired from running around all day, emotions soaring high and a million little cuts on every inch of my hands from tearing down paneling with no gloves or tools, only to reveal the reason why the prior owners put the paneling up in the first place.

But sitting there alone at 1 am not a single belonging had yet to make it into the house I sat there in a room I have just torn apart smiling knowing what I could turn it into.

Image

ImageImageImage

Knowing I would need to actually call in help for the next part I finally decided to call it a day.

The next day I called a friend to come in and drywall… I thought about taking it on myself but decided it was better left to someone who actually knew what he or she was doing.

The next couple of days moved a little slower for me while I tried to be patient, the drywall was being installed, taped and mudded., which left me free to move all my boxes from the old place to the new.

Image

Once the drywall was up and the mud was sanded it was time for me to get back to work. I had already bought some drywall primer – which if you have never painted new drywall be sure to ALWAYS prime or the drywall will just soak up the paint! It only took me 2 nights to prime and paint the walls with a couple coats and re-stain all the trim work. My window is also all wood and wasn’t in the best of shape so I threw a couple coats of paint on there too! Already the room looked completely different!

Now the framework as I would call it for the room was complete it was time to start on my desk. Yes you heard me, time to pull out the power tools! I have never actually tried building anything before that didn’t require fabric and a needle so I really wasn’t sure what exactly I was doing but I was excited!

I started with drawing what I wanted the desk to look like; I thought that was a good start 🙂

Image

Once I had my drawing it was time to take a trip to the local Home Depot and start wood shopping!

I had decided on using 2 x 10’s for the top and 2 x 12’s for the legs. I wanted the desk to be 12ft long by about 18” deep so I had bought two 2 x 10’s that were 12ft long and cut them so they were 6ft long. This made the top part 4 pieces in total. Once these were cut all I needed to do was stain them, I went with a red mahogany and protected them with 2 clear coats of polycrylic.

ImageImage

Onto the legs…I measured my dining room table to find out how high I needed the legs to be which was 28” high and cut my 2 x 12’s into 8 pieces that were 28” high. I painted these white and again protected them with a couple clear coats of polycrylic. Once the legs were dry I drilled the holes to put the little metal shelf holders in (yes this is my technical term). Ok I googled it for those who might actually want to know and came up with this name ‘Shelf Support Plug With Steel Pin’.

ImageImage

With the legs and the desktop complete it was time to piece the whole thing together. I had bought a pile of L braces and started drilling away.

Image

ImageImage

Once the desk was put together and sturdy it was time for the shelves. I bought a white melamine, cut them to size and slide them into place!

Desk is finally complete!

Hmmm when I write it out sounds pretty easy. The whole process definitely took a lot more work, time and effort then the 2 minutes it took me to blog about it!

Image

We now have walls, made beautiful with paint and a custom hand-made desk that turned out better than I could have imagined, seriously I am so in love with this desk. Now it is time to complete the desk with chairs!

Yes my chairs, I love them too… ok I guess it is fair to just say I love the whole room just so much 😛

I found these chairs at Goodwill for $5 each no tax which I thought was an awesome price. I picked them because the backs of the chairs were different than your standard 4-legged chairs. They were in pretty rough shape, paint was chipping and the cushions were beyond stained but I knew with a little knuckle grease, a bottle or two of spray paint and some fun bright new fabric they would be as good as new!

ImageImage

ImageImage

After those hurdles were tackled the rest went really fast, one afternoon I painted the magnetic chalkboard on the wall above my desk,

ImageImage

Found these great red shelves at Rona for 25% off!

Image

Found this old school mirror on kijiji for only $15

Image

And found the wall bars with hanging baskets and bucket at Ikea

Image

All the baskets found on the shelves and in the desk were all dollerama finds!

Image

And everything else I already owned and was put in place!

Image

ImageImage

Image

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2012 in Miscellaneous, Uncatorgized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Room to Create…

  1. JO-ANN MICHAELS

    August 13, 2012 at 12:56 AM

    MICHELLE , THE ROOM LOOKS GREAT. I CAN APPRECIATE YOUR HARD WORK , BECAUSE I SAW THE BEGINNING. YOU NEVER CEASE TO AMAZE ME. LOVE YA!!! JO-ANN
    NOT ONLY ARE YOU CREATIVE WITH CRAFTS, BUT ALSO IN YOUR WRITING ABILITY.

     
  2. Julie Holm

    August 13, 2012 at 11:29 AM

    Love it! Great job MIchelle!

     
  3. Evelyn

    October 26, 2012 at 8:10 PM

    Your sewing room is great. I would love to know what the fabric is for your chair seats. Did you know that you can paint paneling? We had a house that had a lot of paneling in poor shape. After cleaning it, we primed and painted it with acrylic interior paint–it turned out fine. Ours had vertical lines that we left because we did not mind them; however, they can be filled in if one finds them offensive. My husband was skeptical (as he always is about my projects), but was pleasantly surprised at the result. I do love your sewing room, and think I will “borrow” some of your ideas, if you do not mind.

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      October 26, 2012 at 11:32 PM

      Thank you! I had to laugh because just as I read your comment I was standing in my room wondering where to start in the clean-up process after working on my Halloween costume! As for the chairs I found the fabric at my local lens mills store in the upholstery section:)

      I did read about painting panelling but was skeptical too so caved and did drywall. However, I do have panelling upstairs too so thinking I will try painting it one day! Have to love old houses, between panelling and the lack of closets lol.

      And borrow all the ideas you want:)

       
  4. Chinelo

    August 23, 2013 at 12:32 PM

    Looks like a gorgeous space to create in!

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      August 24, 2013 at 6:56 PM

      Thank you – it was a lot of work but well worth it and I use it as much as I can:)

       
  5. Sammantha

    August 28, 2014 at 10:41 AM

    Hey there! First off- what a great crafting room for creative scheming. Kudos. I was under the impression that Red Mahogany stain was not compatible with Polycrylic; did you have any issues with the stain lifting or prolonged tackiness?
    Your insight would be appreciated!

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      August 28, 2014 at 10:50 AM

      Thank you Sammantha! Still after 2 years I still love the space:)

      I have had no problems with the stain or the poly. I let it dry for at least a week or so before I placed anything on the desk especially my machines with their weight. I find on very humid/hot days that the rubber feet on my machine stick a little but nothing I worry about and it has caused NO damage to the desk at all. Even my serger has suction cup feet and it hasn’t hurt it at all.

      When I get home I can write back letting you know exactly what stain and poly brands I used!

       
    • sewfortheloveofit

      August 28, 2014 at 7:44 PM

      As per my prior response, here is the products I used:
      Stain – VARATHANE Stn Vara Prem Rd Mhgny 177Ml
      http://www.homedepot.ca/product/stn-vara-prem-rd-mhgny-177ml/983246

      Clear coat – MINWAX Polycrylic – Semi-Gloss
      http://www.homedepot.ca/product/polycrylic-semi-gloss/981252

       

Leave a Reply

 
