RSS

Winter Fun Accessories!

15 Feb

Let’s have a scarf party!

Ok so party is probably not the best word as a party usually consists of more than one person, however when you are a party of one you can still have a lot of fun!

This post is going to show you how you can make some of the most must-have scarves available this season, at a fraction of the cost and in literally just minutes! I hope you enjoy these popular, quick, fun and very affordable fashion accessories to keep you warm this winter!

The snow took its time getting here but we all knew it would come. It has been awfully cold the last couple of days and I found myself looking more and more like a homeless person when it came to my fashion choices to keep me warm. Being bogged down with layers and layers of clothing, the cold and lack of sun leaves me feeling less motivated to put effort into the way I look and I realized I need to find some cute girly fashion accessories that will keep me warm but will also make me feel feminine again! There is no reason why we can’t find beauty in our oversized sweaters and comfy boots!

Here I have made 4 different types of scarves that don’t require a pattern and won’t take you long to add cute chic accessories to your winter wardrobe or to add that much needed splash of colour!

So without further delay lets have a scarf party!

Scarf #1 – The Bandana Scarf 

Version 1

Version 2

This scarf can be very versatile! Depending on the choice of fabric it can be a super cute lightweight scarf to add a little something extra to your outfit. Or you can make it out of heavy fleeces, cottons or flannel and it is a great scarf to wear out on the hills if you enjoy boarding or skiing! The bandana scarf is warmer and stays in place better then your typical scarf!

What you will need:

  • Fabric
  • Contrast fabric if you wanted one side to be different
  • Thread
  • Seam binding (optional)
  • Velcro
  • Sewing Machine

Cut a square that measures 20” x 20”

I did make my own pattern for this one so my triangle would be even.

This is how I made my pattern:

I took 6 pieces of regular letter size paper and taped them together:

Then marked 20” wide and 20” high and cut the paper to be a 20” x 20” square.

Fold the square exactly in half and cut the paper along the fold – Now I have my triangle!

This is the pattern for my bandana! Your longest side should measure anywhere between 26” and 28” to fit an adult. Using a 20” x 20” square made my longest edge 28”.

Use this pattern piece to cut your fabric. Do the same with your contrast fabric if you are using two different fabrics.

I am going to show you how I did both the above versions of this scarf.

Version 1:

Using seam binding.

Take your two triangles and with wrong sides together sew all the way around the triangle.

*Tip for sewing around corners: sew along your edge and when you reach the corner lift the pressure foot with the needle down (through the fabric) turn your fabric, then lower the pressure foot and start sewing again.

Once you have sewn all edges and both triangles are completely sewn together take your seam binding wrap it along your raw edges and sew in place. This covers all your raw edges!

Cut a piece of Velcro that measures 4.5” long and sew it on the right side of your bandana. Take the opposite piece of Velcro and sew it on the wrong side of the opposite corner.

Once this is done your scarf is complete!

Here are other versions I have done:

Back:

I tried to use my seam binding foot to create my own binding out of the fleece but I was unfortunately disappointed. I was unable to get it to work as I did before, maybe due to the fabric being a lot thicker then the fabric I used in ‘A treat for my sewing bag’. Due to frustration I gave up on the foot and created my own binding by hand with great success.

Option 2:

No seam binding.

This option will be faster because you won’t be using seam binding which I find can take some fiddling and extra care in sewing to make sure you catch both the binding and fabric!

Take your two triangles and with right sides together sew all the way around leaving a small opening on one side.

I found the best place to leave the opening was on the top edge (your longest edge). This is where the Velcro would go so it helps in hiding any imperfections when hand sewing.

Do not leave the opening right at the corner! Instead sew around the corner and continue sewing about an inch in then stop jump over about 2” or so and then continue sewing. See below picture to show where I left my opening (opening is between the two pins):

Once sewing is complete make sure to trim your seam. If you have a serger you can use that to trim off the extra fabric.

Also be sure to trim your corners like so (trimming avoids bulk once turned right side out):

Take the bandana and pull it through the opening you left so that it is right side out.

Tuck the edges of your opening in and hand stitch the opening closed.

I used Velcro in this version, however, I would suggest using a snap or hook and eye instead – it would suit the lightweight fabric much nicer. Sew that on and you are done!

Finished product:

Scarf #2 – The Snood Scarf

I was only recently introduced to this after searching the internet for ‘how to look good while staying warm’… Yes I do google these things when I am board but yet too lazy to get up and actually be productive. I guess this is what happens when you don’t have cable 😉

I came across this cute fashion video ‘How to dress for winter’ and it introduced me to the snood scarf.

A snood scarf is a super cozy tube of fabric that can be worn as a bulky scarf and is also large enough to pull up over your head like a hood when going out into the blizzard.

What you need:

  • Fabric
  • Thread
  • Sewing machine

I cut the fabric 40” wide by 30” long.

Fold it right sides together so you have a rectangle.

Sew along the long edge of the fabric. You now have a tube where the top and bottom of the rectangle are left open.

Turn right side out and voila you are done!

Depending on your fabric choice you may have to hem the top and bottom so your fabric doesn’t fray.

I  made up the size and it is a little on the dramatic side for bulk when wearing it but I still love it. Play around and make it any size that you feel suits you!

Scarf #3 – The Infinity Scarf

Chunky Knit Version

Vintage Silk Version:

We have all heard of this one I am sure. The infinity scarf is a great addition to your office wear – add a splash of colour and a little extra warmth while still looking professional.

I made two versions of this as you can see in the above examples.

What you will need:

  • Fabric
  • Thread
  • Sewing machine

I cut my fabric to be 60” long by 21” wide.

Fold your fabric in half right sides together along the longest edge.

Sew along your longest edge. You will have a tube like you did in the snood scarf tutorial, however this one will be much smaller and you probably won’t be able to fit your head through it;)

Press your seam open (see image below) and then turn it right side out.

Fold in half with raw edges matching and seams matching – right sides together and pin.

Sew along the raw edges. Leave about a 2” opening – don’t sew all the away around!

Once you have done that pull the scarf through your opening so that it is right side out.

Once you have your scarf right side out find the opening you left and fold the raw edges in and pin – hand sew shut.

Both versions turned out amazing and have very different looks to them, I can’t decide which one I love more ❤

Scarf #4 – The Chunky Faux Bandana Scarf

What you need:

  • Fabric
  • A large button
  • 1 – 13mm snap
  • thread
  • sewing machine

In my example I am using two fabrics so I measured 11” wide by 60” long and cut both fabrics that size.

If using only one fabric measure it to be 22” wide by 60” long.

With right sides together sew along all raw edges leaving about a 2” opening – I suggest leaving the opening somewhere along the middle of your long edge, this will least likely be seen and it will make it easier to pull the entire scarf through the middle verses pulling through one end.

Once sewing all raw edges, minus the opening is done then trim your seams and corners, turn right side out and tuck in the edges of your opening – hand sew shut.

I used snaps behind my button because I didn’t want to go through the trouble of making a button hole – my button was too large for my button foot and I didn’t want to risk ruining my scarf trying to make a button whole without the help of my button hole foot.

How I determined where to put the snap and button:

I draped the scarf around me and fit it the way I liked. I then marked where I wanted the one side of the snap, secured that snap in place then sewed the other end of the snap and the button onto the corner edge closest to my face. And that is it!

These are just a few alternatives, By far my favs are the chunky knits! Both the black snood scarf and the purple infinity scarf suit my style! There are so many different looks and fabrics out there so go out and discover your new best fashion accessory for this winter!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2012 in Scarves

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Winter Fun Accessories!

  1. Erin Warder

    February 15, 2012 at 9:49 AM

    You are way to cute! I think the button one is my favorite, I do love a good oversized button 🙂

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      February 15, 2012 at 9:09 PM

      Now if only I can convince a brilliant photographer like yourself to move closer to me so I can get better photos then the silly ones I take of myself…

       
  2. Sue

    February 15, 2012 at 12:31 PM

    Excellent blog once again Chelle! All of the scarves were gorgeous… gosh you are so creative!! 🙂

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      February 15, 2012 at 9:11 PM

      Thanks so much Sue – I had so much fun making them all I rushed over to my Mom’s to show her how to make them all too! I love them all!

       

Leave a Reply

 
