RSS

Warm at work

28 Nov

This is going to be a simple post today – figured my readers would appreciate that after the long post last week 😉

Winter is quickly approaching and my hands are starting to feel it. I have noticed that while I am working on the computer or if I am sewing my hands are starting to get extremely cold… I am definitely talking ice cube cold! So when I came across this Kwik Sew pattern it immediately made the ‘must make’ list!

Random beauty fact – if you have poor circulation (cold hands) it will cause your nails to become weak, brittle and break. Just another reason for me to jump on this ever so simple project!

Kwik Sew #3806 – Fingerless gloves! Perfect for keeping my hands warm while still being able to work without interference 🙂

Pattern

Pattern

You would honestly be surprised how warm these keep my hands. For a project that cost me less than $10 and took less then an hour to complete it was worth every cent and minute spent!

I chose a super soft, fluffy black material, I wanted something I could wear at work without it standing out to much so I figured black was a safe bet.

This project couldn’t be any easier! 1 Pattern piece! Cut it twice.

Pattern Piece Cut

Pattern Piece Cut

This material was pretty fluffy so to decrease any extra fluff floating around I serged all the raw edges on both pieces.

And for a little extra personalization I then embroidered my logo on the two pieces before proceeding to sew.

Gloves Embroidered

Gloves Embroidered

Those two extra steps I created was pretty much the bulk of the work. After that all I had to do was fold the glove in half lengthwise, raw edges together and right sides together and sew. Don’t forget to leave an opening where the pattern indicates for your thumbs!

Here is a close up shot of them done:

Final Gloves Close Up

Final Gloves Close Up

And then a final shot of them on:

Wearing them!

Wearing them!

I cannot say enough about these, from how simple they were to how useful they are for me… Absolutely in love with them!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2011 in Miscellaneous

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Warm at work

  1. sue

    November 29, 2011 at 4:48 PM

    Awesome as usual Chelle! Well done! Sue

     
  2. Erin

    December 8, 2011 at 6:40 PM

    I have been reading these by the way! and you are too cute! 🙂 I cant believe you embroidered something, your so hardcore! I am very proud of you 🙂

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      December 8, 2011 at 6:54 PM

      I had to embroider my logo or how else would people know it is from my line;)

      All joking aside, thank you Erin! You have no idea what that means!

       
  3. Scrapebox Proxy

    December 27, 2011 at 8:40 PM

    I happen to be commenting to let you know of the excellent experience my friend’s princess had viewing yuor web blog. She learned too many details, with the inclusion of how it is like to have an excellent teaching mindset to make certain people very easily know precisely specified problematic issues. You actually exceeded readers’ desires. Many thanks for giving the powerful, dependable, revealing and in addition fun tips on the topic to Lizeth.

     

Leave a Reply

 
