RSS

A Treat For My Sewing Bag!

31 Oct

HAPPY HALLOWEEN my sewing followers;
DO I HAVE a treat for you!

I know it has been a long while since I have stopped in to inspire – however in my defense I have just recently started a new job and with contract work coming in, life has been anything but dull:p

Trust me if I could retire and sew for the rest of my life I would do that!

I write today to inform you of my most recent purchase – My binding foot!

Brother SA109 1/4 Inch Binding Foot

Brother SA109 1/4 Inch Binding Foot

Brother SA109 1/4 Inch Binding Foot

Brother SA109 1/4 Inch Binding Foot

This foot was actually ordered several weeks ago, September 13 to be exact. But it is here now so I will be happy and not complain.

The foot itself is pretty intense looking but quite simple to use! The purpose of it is to make and sew binding all in one step. I no longer have to try and find matching pre-made binding ever again! I can use any fabric I wish… and the best part (well the best part I can think of at the moment is) I can use this foot to create custom spaghetti straps and drawstrings without fussing on sewing them and trying to turn them right side out; which if you have ever tried doing you know it is always a headache due to being tiny and tight!

There are really only 3 main things you need to remember:

1)    Always cut the fabric on the bias (45° angle) ~ You will get the most stretch this way
2)    Cut the fabric 2.5 cm wide
3)    Cut one end on a point so you can feed it through the foot at the start

So Let’s try this out!

As I mentioned above, this foot successfully creates the binding and sews it in place all in one step. I personally did the process by hand; which was without a word of a lie pretty HORRIBLE but I wanted you to understand what the foot is doing.

Everything in step one through four is done all at the exact same time:

Step one: Start with the 2.5cm wide fabric

Fabric cut to 2.5cm wide

Fabric cut to 2.5cm wide

Step Two: Folds raw edges to the center:

Raw Edges Folded in

Raw Edges Folded in

Step Three: It folds in half so the raw edges to hide inside and can’t fray

Raw Edges Folded to the Inside

Raw Edges Folded to the Inside

Step Four: Sews the binding. These steps would create your items such as spaghetti straps or drawstrings.

Stitched Binding

Stitched Binding

Of course in the above sample I used non-matching thread so you could see it. When doing this for real you would want to match your thread as close as possible to your fabric so the stitching is less noticeable.

So that was the ‘behind the scene’ as I would call it of what the foot does for you. All you have to do is:

A)   Insert the binding fabric into the foot

Binding Fabric Inserted into Foot

Binding Fabric Inserted into Foot

B)   Step on the pedal to sew! And again the finish product will look like so:

Stitched Binding

Stitched Binding

Another option if you wanted to bind the raw edge of an item you are working on; whether it’s a garment or quilt; you would do the following:

A)   Insert the binding fabric into the foot

B)   Insert your raw edge of your item

Binding A Raw Edge

Binding A Raw Edge

You would then end up with something that looks like this:

Binding Sewn In Place

Binding Sewn In Place

The foot has separate slots for inserting the binding fabric and where you would insert the item you want the binding to be on; which makes it extremely user friendly!

So in a nutshell that is my new binding foot! I am very excited to explore the options and versatility of this new addition to my sewing bag!

You can play around with different stitch options, lengths, widths, style and location to whatever best suits your project.

I know I will find many uses for this in the future!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2011 in Tips and Tricks, Tools

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “A Treat For My Sewing Bag!

  1. P2P4U

    November 11, 2011 at 9:18 AM

    Would you be interested in exchanging hyperlinks?

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      November 13, 2011 at 7:23 PM

      I am sorry I am new to all of this – What do you mean regarding exchanging hyperlinks?

       
  2. Elisabetta

    January 19, 2012 at 11:24 AM

    do you mind tell me how big is the part that attacks to your foot?
    this question is why I am trying to understand if this specific foot could be good for my Toyota too!
    I have the possibility to hook and unhook my pressing foot and it seems to me that this foot does the same.
    I am sorry for my english, I am italian so please try to understand what I mean ^_^

     
    • Elisabetta

      January 19, 2012 at 11:27 AM

      my pressing foot has 0.60 cm space to be attacked to the sewing machine arm.

       
      • sewfortheloveofit

        January 19, 2012 at 7:26 PM

        The little bar on the binding foot that attaches to the arm is 0.25″ wide – which is the same as 0.64 cm. Let me know if this makes sense because if it doesn’t I can try sending you pictures to show you what I am talking about!

         
  3. Elisabetta

    January 20, 2012 at 11:12 AM

    this makes sense for sure!
    I understand that this item is compatible to my sewing machine Toyota
    for this reason I’d like to buy the Brother 1/4-Inch Quilting Foot too!

    T.H.A.N.K. Y.O.U. S.O. M.U.C.H. ^_^

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      January 21, 2012 at 10:56 AM

      I am so happy I could help! Now just a warning I found it didn’t work with thick fabrics very well like fleece.

      It works well with thinner fabrics – cotton, silk like materials poly an stuff

       
  4. Elisabetta

    January 21, 2012 at 2:53 PM

    thank you so much, I’ll remember this!

     
  5. Rachel

    June 20, 2014 at 6:06 PM

    if i wanted to double the thickness of my binding for added durability, would the two layers feed into this binding foot without difficulty?

     
    • sewfortheloveofit

      June 27, 2014 at 9:47 AM

      Hello Rachel,

      I don’t think double thickness would work to be honest. The feed isn’t very large, however I have never tried feeding it through double so I can’t say 100%.

       

Leave a Reply

 
