RSS

Sew Perfect Pants For Work or Play!

03 Aug

Today’s sewing experience comes from Mom’s sewing room as I am watching their dog this week 🙂

Harley

Harley

Confession this is not the first time I have attempted this pattern. This is actually the third time for Kwik Sew pattern #3625…

First attempt was actually pretty successful – that was pre-blog. The first attempt I made these pants from denim. They turned out great – clean and simple. However I had made them the wrong size and had already serged on the waistband so instead of taking them all apart and resizing I passed them on to my mom – they fit her perfectly and looked great!

Attempt One - Jeans

Attempt One - Jeans

Second attempt was an utter fail.

Pockets Gone Wrong

Pockets Gone Wrong

Yes if you look very closely at the above photo you will indeed see that one pocket is sewed on the inside of the pant and the other on the outside. If you haven’t guessed it BOTH pockets should ALWAYS be sewn on the inside of the pants 😉

Till this day I still can’t figure out how I messed that one up so badly. Needless to say that became scrap material.

So here is attempt number three. During the Fabricland customer appreciation sale I bought some great fashion fabric that I knew would work great for this pattern. They would make perfect pants for work or for play!

Fabric and Pattern

Fabric and Pattern

You start with the pocket. I have to say that this pattern is extremely easy to follow. Both pockets went on perfectly this time. I did however double… and triple check to make sure this time! My one note that I would like to make is my fabric had a bit of a stretch to it and my pocket lining didn’t so it worked better for some reason by sewing with the lining facing up when sewing the pocket insets to my pocket lining.

Pockets Done Right

Pockets Done Right

Once the pockets are done you move over to the zipper – which surprisingly went nice and smooth too. This pattern actually calls to place the top of the zipper above the waistband which means you will trim the top of the zipper off instead of the bottom – first time I have ever seen that requested but the waistband ends up being sewn over top of it so you don’t have to worry about cutting off the stopper thingy.

Zipper

Zipper

Once done those 2 steps the rest is smooth sailing, couple of darts, sewing the side seams, waist band, a couple of hooks and you are good to go!

Darts Seams & Hooks Oh Yeah!

Darts Seams & Hooks Oh Yeah!

I did end up having to cut the waist band twice as the first time I put the interfacing on the white fabric instead of the brown not knowing that would cause the white fabric to be on the outside not the inside like I wanted as the lining. But no big deal as it was easily seen before I started sewing it.

Waistband

Waistband

For the final hemming I cheated a little. As I have mentioned in past blogs I am really not a fan of the double fold and sew method so for this project I serged the raw edges folded once, pressed and sewed. This works great and no worry of fraying edges.

And there you have it! I am confident in saying that if you are an average seamstress you would have no problem doing this pattern in just a few hours. So get sewing and make yourself a pair of comfy work or play pants in less than a day!

Finished Pants

Finished Pants

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Pants

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
